Create, Edit, or Delete an Event

People in groups like to get together, which requires knowing when and where to go! Events help you keep all of that organized, so your members will be able to attend all the events you create! And, once an event is created, Group Leaders can record attendance.

Create an Event

In your group, go to the Calendar tab and choose a date.

Add the name, date, and time of the event. Even choose how often the event will repeat as well as when it will end.

If you need to add events from the past, you can email leaders asking them to enter attendance for that past event.

Add a location for the event.

  1. Choose a location from the dropdown.
  2. Add a specific address, or, if you don't know the address, drop a pin at your location.
  3. View the preview that members or non-members will see on the groups page.

Add any description you'd like people to see.

Select Create when you're finished, and your event will be added to the calendar!

Edit the Event

On the group calendar, select the event.

Edit any information then scroll to the bottom and Save.

If your event repeats, choose to save only this event or all future events as well.

Cancel or Delete the Event

If you have an event that is no longer taking place, there are two ways to update your calendar:

Deleting an Event: This is permanent and removes all traces of the event from the calendar. If attendance was taken and Visitors were listed, that information disappears as well.

Canceling an Event: Unless your event was created by mistake, this is usually the best option for events that aren't taking place. When you use this option, the event remains on the calendar (both online and in subscriptions) but is labeled as "Cancelled" so that members are aware. Here's how these top options work:

On the group calendar, select the event.

Cancel Event

Scroll to the bottom of the event and choose Cancel Event.

You'll be given the option to notify group members the event has been canceled. Check the box and type in the reason to send to group members.

Choose Cancel Event to finalize the change.

The event will remain on the group calendar; however, it will now have a line through it, so everyone is clear the event was scheduled but is no longer taking place.

If you change your mind, you can go back to the event and un-cancel!

Delete Event

Scroll to the bottom of the event and select Delete.

If your event repeats, choose to delete only this event or all future events as well.

Deleting an event is a permanent action.

Now that your event is set up, let's add some resources for members to access!

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments