9/14/2017 Changelog

We've been busy. Here's a look at back at some of the things we've been knocking out

Enhancements and Fixes

Group Sorting - You've asked for it, and here it is. Finally, when in the tile view, groups will now appear in alphabetical order rather than last created. This should now make a bit more sense as you scroll down though your groups. Let's face it, it's about time. Thanks for your patience. We know that what you'd really like is a custom order. There are some big changes in the works for these pages though

Membership Numbers Removed on Public Directory - A good number of customers didn't like that membership numbers are displayed on the group directory. We've removed them since they're not critical to any functionality or the design. However, we left the number of groups though, as that one is more clearly useful on the index page.

Properties Update - A sharp-eyed customer found that when you set up the property for "Stage of Life," we then asked you "Can one group belong to many Stage of Lives?" Nine out of ten linguists agree, that's a really awkward question. That will now read "Can one group belong to many Stages of Life?" It's the small things, you know?

Consistent Verbiage in Leader Request Emails - We recently changed the verbiage surrounding the application process in Groups to be a bit more friendly, opting to use phrasing like "join this group" over "apply to this group" and "requests" over "applications." However, we discovered those older terms were still being used within emails being sent to group leaders when someone requested to be in their group. You'll now find friendlier verbiage in Groups regardless of the Admin or Leader/Member sides.

Inactive Members Removed from Archived Groups - When a member (in Planning Center People) is made "inactive" they are removed from the groups they are currently members of. However, this wasn't a good pattern for an archived group. For an archived group, we want that membership history to remain intact. So, now, if a member becomes inactive after the group is archived, they'll remain in the group with an "(archived)" note by the name. NOTE: If a group is unarchived, the inactive members will be removed from the group.

Future Events - When creating a repeating event, the date pickers always selected the current month rather than the month you were already looking at in the calendar. This required the planner to scroll through the calendar until they got to the month they were working in. From now on, the calendar will intelligently select the month you're working in to make for a more streamlined experience.

Code in Group Event Descriptions - Some were seeing some HTML code when they subscribed to an event in Groups and viewed that event's description in iCal. That code will no longer be seen.

Override Group Settings Vanishing - When a group was closed and had "Auto-close enrollment on" and "Auto-close if enrollment number exceeds" selected for a specific date and number, those setting were being deleted when an Admin selected "Open all groups," within a specific Group Type. Fear not! Those settings will now stick.

 

As always, we love to hear feedback on features released, as well as any additional Feature Requests you'd like to see. Send your comments or suggestions by clicking the ? in the upper right of the app.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments