Create, Edit, or Delete an Event

Created on:
Updated on:

People in groups like to get together, which requires knowing when and where to go! The calendar helps you keep all of that organized, so your members will be able to attend all the events you create. 

Create an Event

From the Calendar tab on the main page or the Events tab on a group, select Create a new event.

Choose to start this calendar on Monday instead of Sunday by checking the box.

Select the group, then add the name, date, and time of the event. Even choose how often the event will repeat as well as when it will end.

add information about event

If you're creating an event from the group page, the group will already be selected.

Select more options to be taken to the event page and update the description and location or select Create to update that information later.

add information about event
  1. Choose a location from the dropdown and use Edit location to add a specific address, or, if you don't know the address, drop a pin at your location.
  2. View the preview members or non-members will see on the groups page.
  3. Enter the description for the event shown on the groups page.

Select Create event when you're finished, and your event will be added to the calendar!

Edit the Event

Select the event name from the list to make any changes.

View more details like a map of the location or select Edit event to make changes.

From this event page, you can send a reminder email to all your group members!

Edit any information then scroll to the bottom and Save.

save event

If your event repeats, choose to save only this event or all future events as well.

Cancel or Delete the Event

If you have an event that is no longer taking place, there are two ways to update your calendar:

Delete an Event: This is permanent and removes all traces of the event from the calendar. If attendance was taken and Visitors were listed, that information disappears as well.

Cancel an Event: Unless your event was created by mistake, this is usually the best option for events that aren't taking place. When you use this option, the event remains on the calendar (both online and in subscriptions) but is labeled as "Canceled" so that members are aware. Here's how these top options work:

On the group calendar, select the event.

Cancel Event

Scroll to the bottom of the event and choose Cancel Event.

cancel event

You'll be given the option to notify group members the event has been canceled. Check the box and type in the reason to send to group members.

notify group members

Choose Cancel Event to finalize the change.

The event will remain on the group calendar; however, it will now have a line through it, and the attendance column shows Canceled.

canceled event

Everyone is clear the event was scheduled but is no longer taking place.

If you change your mind, you can go back to the event and un-cancel!

un-cancel event

Delete Event

Scroll to the bottom of the event and select Delete.

delete one or all events

If your event repeats, choose to delete only this event or all future events as well.

Deleting an event is a permanent action.

Now that your event is set up, let's add some resources for members to access or record attendance for the event.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful