By default, when groups are created, the status is set to private and closed, which means people can't see or join them from the group page. Groups available for new members can be set to public and open from the group settings by an Administrator.
Some types of leadership groups or recovery groups can be taken off the group directory but still be accessible to members of the group. In addition, these private groups are good to give administrators time to set up groups before they're announced to the public – a way to "stage" a bunch of groups and then launch them all at once to the public.
Groups can be made public or private on the individual group page from the settings.
They can also be made public or private all at once.
Private groups are only known to Administrators, the group's leader(s), and the members of the group. The URL of a group page will redirect someone not logged in to the main group directory. However, if members (including leaders) of that group log in, they'll then be able to get the URL of the group page directly.
On the group directory, members of the private group can see their group in the "My Groups" section, but non-members will not be able to find the group even in a search.
If all the groups in a given group type are private, the group type itself will be hidden from the group directory.
An Administrator can create a group with its members then immediately set it to closed or automatically close it when it reaches a certain date or membership number.
Closing a group still keeps all members active.
There are two ways to automatically close a group. They can be enabled from the Enrollment section of the group settings.
- If a class is available only until a certain date, select the date, and the class will be listed as closed.
- Some groups only allow a certain number of people. Once that number is reached, the group will be listed as full.
- An Administrator can make adjustments to a group if the membership reaches a certain number. When that number of people join the group, the Administrator will receive a notification.
Even if the group is closed or has exceeded the membership allotment, leaders and administrators can still add new members to this group.
Group Leaders are also members, so they will be counted toward the total.
If a group is closed, the group image will have a closed label on it instead of the normal open label on the group directory.
If a person goes to the group page itself, the Join This Group button will be missing, and the group will have a message in its place.
If the person viewing the group page is logged in as a member of the group, the message will not show, regardless of if the group is open or closed.