Create, Edit, or Delete an Event

Created on:
Updated on:

People in groups like to get together, which requires knowing when and where to go! The calendar helps you keep all of that organized, so your members will be able to attend all the events you create. 

Create an Event

From a group Events tab, click Create a new event.

If you are an Admin, you can also create the event from the main Groups Calendar tab. If you do this, you will need to fill in details about the event before you go to the New Event page.

  1. Fill in the event name, date, time, and frequency.
  2. Choose a location from the dropdown, or choose to Create a new location.
  3. Enter the description for the event that will be shown on the public groups page.
  4. Set automated reminders for the event.

Select Create event when you're finished, and your event will be added to the calendar!

Edit the Event

Select the event name from the list to make any changes.

Click Edit event to make changes.

From this event page, you can send event reminder emails.

Edit any information, and then scroll to the bottom and click Save.

save event

If your event repeats, choose to save only this event or all future events as well.

Cancel or Delete the Event

If you have an event that is no longer taking place, there are two ways to update your calendar:

Delete an Event: This is permanent and removes all traces of the event from the calendar. If attendance was taken and visitors were listed, that information will be permanently erased as well.

Cancel an Event: Unless your event was created by mistake, this is usually the best option for events that are no longer meeting. When you use this option, the event remains on the calendar (both online and in subscriptions) but is labeled as "Canceled" so that members are aware. Here's how these top options work:

On the group calendar, select the event.

Cancel Event

Scroll to the bottom of the event, and click Cancel Event.

cancel event

You'll be given the option to notify group members that the event has been canceled.

Check the box and type in the reason to send to group members, and then click Cancel Event.

notify group members

The event will remain on the group calendar; however, it will now have a line through it, and the attendance column shows Canceled.

canceled event

If you change your mind, you can go back to the event and un-cancel!

un-cancel event

Delete Event

Scroll to the bottom of the event and click Delete. If your event repeats, choose to delete only this event or all future events as well.

Deleting an event is a permanent action.

delete one or all events

Now that your event is set up, let's add some resources for members to access or record attendance for the event.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful