Permissions and Roles

Created on:
Updated on:

There are three different roles in Groups:

Only Organization Administrators can see information for people across Planning Center apps. Groups Administrators can view about all people in the Groups database.

Group Members

Group members are people who have been added to a group by either an Administrator, a Group Leader, or have added themselves to a group using Open Signups.

There are different ways to join a group, depending on the group type.  After joining a group, members can log in to:

Group Leaders

Group Leaders can create events, add resources, and communicate with group members once they log in to the administrative side of Groups. However, they can only access the groups that they are leaders for.

A Group Leader logs into the Groups admin page using their email address and password. After logging in, group leaders will see all groups that they are members or leaders of in the My Groups tab.

log in on groups page

Leaders can update member roles, events, and other settings for groups they lead.

Once logged into Groups, Group Leaders can do the following for their groups:

  1. Add and remove members and communicate with group members.
  2. Manage the group's calendar by adding and removing events.
  3. Add and remove group resources.
  4. Modify the group information, such as name, description, contact information, location, and group image.
  5. View various group reports.
  6. View attendance reports.

A person can also be added to a group by joining the group.

Some group settings within the administrative side of Groups can be configured to limit what group leaders can do. Only Administrators can make changes to those settings.

Administrators

Groups Administrators have unlimited control in Groups. They can access all groups and group members, set up group types, edit group status, and access settings otherwise inaccessible to leaders.

Groups Administrators can also do everything that Group Leaders can do.

To add an Administrator, go to the People page on the Admin side of Groups. Click Add Administrator, and then enter the name of the person. If the person is not already in your database, create a new person.

add admin

To remove an Administrator from Groups, go to the Administrator's profile and click Admin Profile.

You can also filter the People list to show a list of Administrators.

remove admin access from profile

Click Remove admin access to remove the person's Administrator permissions.

Administrators can also delete a person, but deleting removes the person from Groups entirely. Any history recorded will be deleted forever.

Administrators can promote group members to Leaders from a group Members tab. Click the dropdown under Member Actions, and then select Make leader.

remove leader
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful