Have more questions? Submit a request

Permissions in Groups

Groups is a place for your congregation to connect online. Access is scaled so the appropriate information goes into the group and allows members to interact safely.

Share these articles with people based on their roles in your church to help them get the most out of Groups:

Administrator

Group Type Manager

Group Leader

Group Member

Edit someone else's profile 

Set up group types 

Manage shared locations 

Create new events and resources 

CC

View report dashboard 

Manage group type settings and defaults.

Access admin notifications 

Add and remove group type managers. 

Create new groups 

Create new tags 

Table 1. Individual Group

Administrator

Group Type Manager

Group Leader

Group Member

Create and cancel events 

CC

Delete events

Add and remove resources 

CC

Add and remove members 

CC

Accept or reject membership requests

CC

Manage reports 

Take attendance 

CC

CC*

View and edit RSVPs 

CC

Modify group information 

View contact information for leaders or members

CC

CC*

View exact location of group and event

CC*

CC*

Manage enrollment and visibility settings 

Edit group settings 

*

Manage personal contact information

CC

Participate in group messages

CC*

CC*

Manage group tags


Notice

Visitors are not considered group members until they are officially added as members.

Contact Information Permissions

 

Giving people access to Planning Center depends on their role at your church. Staff and background-checked leaders may have enough trust to access people's information, whether to edit or view, but people outside of that trusted circle should be given lower permissions.

Important

Only organization administrators can edit profile information for people across all Planning Center products.

This table outlines who can access people's contact information based on their permissions in another product. 

Can edit

Can view

No access

Account Settings

Organization administrators (in all products)

Billing managers

Calendar

People editor

People viewer

Any Event, Room, or Resource permission

Check-Ins

Editor

Viewer

Headcounter

Giving

Administrator

Bookkeeper

Reviewer

Counter

Groups

Administrator

Group type manager

Leader (everyone in their group) 

Member (everyone in their group who has made info visible)

Members under the age of 13

People

Manager

Editor

Viewer

Publishing

Administrators

Registrations

Administrator

Manager (only attendees in signup)

Services

Administrator

Editor (based on settings)

Scheduler (based on settings)

Viewer (based on settings)

Scheduled viewer

Organization Administrator-Only Tasks

 

Organization administrators have access to specific parts of Planning Center that no other permission can access, so please familiarize yourself with them as early as possible.

Product

Task

Groups

Enable the Church Center for group engagement

Change the Localization settings that all event times are based on

Give Access

To give someone administrator or group type manager access to Groups, go to their profile and select Permissions from the Actions dropdown.

edit permissions_arrow.png

Select the permission you want to assign and click Update permissions.

modal_permissions_group type manager.png

If you choose Group Type Manager, assign the group types that the person will manage.

Notice

You can also add group type managers from the group type settings.

Add members and leaders on the group's Member tab.

When a person is added, they'll receive an email that allows them to set their password and log in.

Important

Emails are sent to the primary email address, except for Account Settings. Account Settings sends an email to every email address listed on an organization administrator or billing manager's profile.

Remove Access

If you remove administrator or group type manager permissions, the person will retain leader or member access for any of their groups.

From the permissions popup, change the permission level to None and select Update permissions.

permissions_none.png

Removing a person's access will not notify them. When they try to log in, they will encounter an error page.

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 5 found this helpful