Help Members Use Groups on Church Center

Created on:
Updated on:

When your members use the Church Center web or app to access their groups, they might occasionally have questions about how to do things like joining a group, updating their information, or responding to RSVPs.

Check out the video below to see how group members can use Church Center.

Logging in to Church Center

When you enter your mobile number or email in the login screen, you will be sent a verification code, which will expire after two hours and can only be used to log in once.

After you are logged in, you can make changes to your Church Center profile.

Once you log in to the Church Center web or app, you will stay logged in for fourteen days from your last activity.

Joining a Group

Anyone can browse or join groups from the public groups lst on your church's Church Center website or from the Church Center app.

To join a group, click the Join or Ask to join button on the group page.

group page
  1. You can use the Contact button to contact the contact person of the group with any questions.
  2. After clicking Join or Ask to join, do the following, depending on what type of group it is:

If the group requires leader approval to join, you will be prompted to send an email to the leader to request to join the group. The leader will respond, letting you if you've been added to the group or not.

If the group does not require approval to join, confirm that you want to join the group if you are logged in, or enter your email and confirm that you want to join from the email that you receive.

If you're attending the group and decide you want to become a member, your leader can show you the QR code, which you can scan and then immediately join!

Accessing Your Group Page

When you are logged in to Groups on Church Center, the groups you are a member of are displayed on top of the page.

From individual group pages, you can access a list of upcoming events, the roster of members, group resources. You can update which information you want to share with the group, subscribe to the event calendar, and view general group information.

In Church Center web, members can access more information about the group from the left navigation bar.

In Church Center app, members can access more information about the group from the tabs at the top.

Messaging will only be displayed if Group Messaging has been enabled by the group Leader.

Responding to RVSPs

When members are sent RSVPs for events, they can respond via RSVP email or in Church Center.

Someone can RSVP whether or not they are currently logged to the Church Center:

  • If they are logged in, they will be taken to the member site, where they can make changes to RSVPs for this or other events.
  • If they are not logged in, their RSVP will be recorded, but they will need to log in to make any other changes.
  • If someone else is logged in to Church Center from the same computer, that person will be logged out and the person who RSVPs will be taken to the member site.

If they need to change their response, they can do that from the original RSVP email or from the event page in Church Center.

Change your response

Sharing Your Information

You can update the information that you share with other members of a group you belong to.

Please keep the following in mind regarding information sharing in Groups:

  • By default, your name will be shared with other group members.
  • You cannot hide your name if Group Messaging is enabled for your group.

From the Church Center web or app, go to the Members tab for a group, and select Review shared info.

Select the information you would like to be available for other group members, and check Apply to all groups if you want to share this same information for all your groups.

The information you choose to share here is what will be seen by other group members. Group Leaders are able to see all of this information for their group members.

Set Notification Preferences

Group members can receive Church Center notifications when a member posts a message, when a new resource is posted, or when an event reminder goes out.

Members can also set their message preferences from their profile.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful