Cancel or Delete an Event

Created on:
Updated on:

If you have an event that is no longer taking place, there are two ways to update your calendar:

  • Cancel an Event: Unless your event was created by mistake, this is usually the best option for events that are no longer meeting. When you use this option, the event remains on the calendar (both online and in subscriptions) but is labeled as "Canceled" so that members are aware. Events can be canceled from Groups Admin or Church Center.
  • Delete an Event: This is permanent and removes all traces of the event from the calendar. If attendance was taken and visitors were listed, that information will be permanently erased as well. Events must be deleted from Groups Admin.

On the group calendar, select the event to cancel or delete it.

Cancel an Event

Leaders and Administrators can edit an event from the Admin side of Groups and Church Center app or web.

Cancel in Groups Admin

In the event, click Cancel event.

To notify members that the event has been canceled, check the box, edit the message as needed, and then click Cancel Event.

notify group members

The event will remain on the group calendar with a line through it, and the attendance column will show Canceled.

canceled event

If you change your mind, you can edit the event and click Un-cancel at the bottom of the page.

un-cancel event

Cancel in Church Center App

To edit an event in Church Center app, log into Church Center, and select an event in the group's Events tab.

Tap the options menu in the upper right corner, and tap Cancel event.

Choose to notify members and add a message, and then tap Cancel.

Cancel in Church Center Web

To edit an event in Church Center web, log into Church Center, and select an event in the group's Events tab.

From the Options menu, select Cancel.

Choose to notify members and add a message, and then select Yes, cancel.

In the event list, the event has a canceled label.

Delete Event

To delete an event, scroll to the bottom of the event Edit page, and click Delete at the bottom of the event. If your event repeats, choose to delete only this event or all future events as well.

There is no way to recover a deleted event.

delete one or all events
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful